We are happy to introduce the following jury members for Georgia: 

Natasha Lomouri, director of the Writers' House of Georgia and professor at Tbilisi State University, President of the jury

Dato Barbakadze, poet, prose writer, essayist and translator

Medea Metreveli, director of the Georgian National Book Centre

Paata Shamugia, poet president of the Georgian Pen Center

Tinatin Beriashvili, director of the Georgian Publishers and Booksellers Association


  • EUPL Year: 
  • EUPL Country: 

Natasha Lomouri

Born in 1975, Natasha Lomouri was schooled in Georgia and in the US and started her university studies at the faculty of International Law and International Relations in Tbilisi State University, but continued at the University of Bologna, Faculty of Political Science. She was awarded with a PhD in 2004 after defending her dissertation entitled Arab-Israeli Conflict: Peace Process at the end of XXCentury at the Tbilisi State University. She worked as an administrative assistant for the Council of Europe in Strasbourg in the Political Affairs directorate, for different international and national organizations – UNDP, USAID and MFA of Georgia and for the Ombudsman (Public Defender) of Georgia in Tbilisi. For a year, she held the position of the curator of international projects for the Georgian State Museum of Literature and since September 2011, she is the director of the newly opened Writers’ House. Lastly, she teaches at the Tbilisi State University at the Faculty of Humanities.

Dato Barbakadze

Dato Barbakadze (1966) is a poet, prose writer, essayist and translator. He studied philosophy, sociology, psychology and ancient history in the universities of Georgia and Germany. Dato Barbakadze is a member of several literary societies in Europe. More:

Medea Metreveli

Since 2014, Medea Metreveli, born in 1978, is directing the Georgian National Book Centre. Under her leadership, several projects for the promotion of Georgian literature abroad were brought to fruition; the most crucial one being Georgia as Guest of Honour at the Frankfurt Book Fair 2018.

Paata Shamugia

Paata Shamugia is a contemporary Georgian poet born in 1983 in Georgia. Since 2018, he is a president of the Georgian Pen Center. In 2015, he became the first Georgian poet to get the most prestigious SABA literary prize twice.

Tinatin Beriashvili

Tinatin Beriashvili, born in 1987, is the director of the Georgian Publishers and Booksellers Association since 2014. The Association’s main priority is to promote and develop the publishing sector and raise the level of literacy in the country. The Association carries out important projects, such as organizing the Tbilisi International Book Festival and holding Georgian National desks at various international book fairs.