National Juries & selection rules

EWC, FEP and EIBF coordinate the jury organisation and selection procedures in the participating countries. Jury members are appointed by EWC, FEP and EIBF Members.

National jury members

Find out who the national jury members are, filtering by year and country.

Rules for the juries

1. Rules for eligible books/authors

The objective of the prize is to give international visibility to authors who are at the beginning of their career in the country of their nationality/residence and have started to have international exposure. The author should be ready to participate in activities organised for the promotion of the prize.  The awarded book must have been written in languages representative of the country. In order to attract the interest of international publishers the book must be recent and still have a commercial exploitation in the country.  For reputation reasons it is important that the author has no conflict of interest with the Jury members or with EU Institutions.

In order to fulfil the above mentioned objectives and principles the following rules must be respected:

  • Nationality - the author must have the nationality or be a permanent resident of the country participating in the year edition.
  • The book eligible for the EUPL jury deliberations must be written in a language/s officially recognised by that country (officially recognised languages are those defined by the Constitution or the relevant national law of the respective country, if there are several, they should be mentioned).
  • The author must have published between 2-4 fiction books
  • The books of the authors should not have been translated in more than 4 languages (this can be adapted depending on the countries).
  • The eligible books should have ideally been published maximum 18 months (19/11/2018) before the date of the announcement (19/05/2020), however, the Consortium may reconsider this criteria, in view of the availability of the book in brick and mortar bookshops and if promotion of the author is still possible and relevant.
  • Authors suggested by jury members cannot be relatives of these jury members
  • Authors suggested by jury members cannot have a current employment contract with the European institutions.
  • The winning emerging author should commit him/herself to attending events related to the award (namely the Awards Ceremony in Brussels and a bookshop event in his/her own country), except in case of serious unforeseen circumstances


2. Rules regarding the jury members

The jury composition should show a diversity of expertise and stakeholders of the book-chain: established critics, authors, presidents or members of authors’, publishers, booksellers associations, cultural representatives, etc. The three organisations (EWC, FEP and EIBF) involved in the implementation of the Prize are allowed to appoint one jury member and no more. The rest of the jury members should be appointed by external organisations. The national jury is organised by the coordinating body invited and appointed by the EUPL steering committee.  The President of the national jury will deliver the Report Packages and represent the jury at the 2020 awards ceremony.

In order to fulfil the above mentioned objectives and principles the following rules must be respected:

  • Jury members cannot propose books by authors published by publishing houses with which they have ties (they work in this house or one of its affiliates).
  • If a jury member proposes a book by an author falling in the 1.6. or in 2.1. then the concerned jury member must abstain from the deliberation on the book.
  • If the concerned jury member fails to respect rule 2.2., s/he, the Consortium will declare a conflict of interest and ask her/him to withdraw/step down from the jury, before the final deliberations of the jury.
  • The whole jury, save the one(s) concerned by rule 2.2, must unanimously agree on the book to be awarded the EUPL prize. In case the jury does not reach unanimous agreement on the book, the whole jury is invited to choose another title.