The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) recognises emerging fiction writers from the European Union and beyond. Engaging the 40 countries participating in the Creative Europe programme of the European Union, the Prize celebrates 40 outstanding new literary talents across a cycle of three years.

Spotlighting the creativity and the immense and diverse wealth of Europe’s contemporary literature in the field of fiction, EUPL aims to promote the circulation of literature within Europe and encourages greater interest in non-national literary works.

Thirteen countries participated in EUPL 2024: Albania, Bulgaria, Denmark, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Tunisia. The 13 national nominees were revealed on 29 February 2024, one for each participating country. The authors and their novels were nominated by national entities, knowledgeable about the literary scene in their countries and used to promoting their national literature abroad.  A seven-member European jury made of literary experts with professional influence read translated excerpts of the 13 nominated books and selected one overall laureate accompanied by five special mentions.

We are pleased to announce the #EUPL2024 laureate: 

Denmark: Theis Ørntoft, Jordisk, Publisher: Gyldendal

This year’s five special mentions are, in alphabetical order by country:

Bulgaria: Todor Todorov, Хагабула, Publisher: Janet 45

Germany: Deniz Utlu, Vaters Meer, Publisher: Suhrkamp

Iceland: María Elísabet Bragadóttir, Sápufuglinn, Publisher: Una útgáfuhús            

Netherlands: Sholeh Rezazadeh, Ik ken een berg die op me wacht, Publisher: Ambo|Anthos

Slovenia: Tina Vrščaj, Na klancu, Publisher: Cankarjeva založba

All nominated authors will be continuously promoted on a European stage, aiming to reach a wider and international audience, as well as connect with readers beyond their national and linguistic borders.

The EUPL is organised by a Consortium of associations comprising the Federation of European Publishers (FEP) and the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF), with the support of the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union.

Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, Iliana Ivanova said: "All works nominated this year showcase the richness and diversity of European literature. At the European Commission, we take pride in supporting a prize that helps talented writers from across Europe connect with readers worldwide through translations and promotion. Let's keep celebrating our diverse European literature!"

Ricardo Franco Levi, FEP President said “We now have a decision for our expert jury. Congratulations to Theis Ørntoft and the special mentions. To all authors nominees, being on the EUPL longlist is a unique chance to increase the visibility of your book to a professional audience and of course, to readers. I would encourage you all to make the best use of EUPL opportunities and in a few months, to have the chance to read many of you in translation.”

Jean Luc Treutenaere, co-President of EIBF, said: “Congratulations to Theis Ørntoft for winning the 2024 EUPL Prize, along with the five special mentions and all the nominated authors in this edition. Their literary work further consolidates the role of the EUPL as an ambassador for the diversity and richness of European contemporary literature, underpinning a message of tolerance and mutual understanding. I wish their novels find the recognition they deserve in bookshops across Europe and beyond, and that they contribute to creating bonds between different regions and culture.”

EUPL 2024 Winners